Review: Kooza by Cirque du Soleil

20170808_193538 Kooza by Cirque du Soleil

The 8th of August is a very special day for Singapore as it marks the eve of National Day for our country. Since it was such a special occasion, we decided to spend the night at the city, watching an iconic circus performance called Kooza Cirque du Soleil! I have to say that the performances by the actors and actresses were amazing, daring and had the ripple of excitement my family and I extremely wanted!

When I heard that the die was cast and I was going to watch a circus performance, I was ecstatic since I’ve never watched a circus before and I knew that the act was going to be a hit!

On that anticipated day, we strolled leisurely to the circus tent after a simple dinner at Lau Pa Sat. The tent was all the way near the pivotal Marina Bay Sands hotel! After passing through security and ticket checkpoints, we bought popcorns and took some pictures around the French-themed place. In English, Cirque du Soleil means circus of the sun. And just by its name, it sounds very attracting!

20170808_200030 Kooza by Cirque du Soleil

As we took our seats in the midsize main tent, the clowns were the first to reveal themselves to the crowd as they started doing practical jokes that made the tent lighten up for the fantastic performance ahead. At 8pm, the performance on schedule and as the 1st act played by, I knew that this circus was just over the top!

Throughout the performance, we got to see acrobats do their stuff: dangerous stunts around poles and walking on tightropes! We also got to see dancers gambol on stage, performing weird but entertaining dances. Lastly, we got to see solo performances where the cast did their own thing, such as stacking chairs and balancing on them!

Overall, the performance was really a great success and the presentation I liked the most was the one which involved contortionists balancing themselves in precarious positions with their bodies ‘deformed!’

I really hope I could watch a circus like this again I totally suggest for you to watch it for yourself. Just get ready to be amazed…

Leave a Reply

